The Basil Wijasuriya Awards are sponsored by ELC International School through annual grant of RM2500.00 and are awarded by the Malaysian English Language Teaching Association (MELTA). These awards are given annually to outstanding paper/workshop presenters at MELTA conferences.

This Award was launched at the 10th MELTA Conference in May 2001. The first winner of the Award was announced at the 12th MELTA International Conference in May 2003.

Malaysian paper presenters who are teachers in kindergartens, primary or secondary schools may submit their complete paper or abstract to compete for the Awards. The best presentations, as judged by the MELTA conference judging panel during the conference, will win the Awards.

The Basil Wijasuriya Awards carry cash sums of RM500 (Gold), RM300 (Silver) and RM200 (Bronze). The winners of the Award will also receive a certificate of commendation.

Details on submission of papers are given in the MELTA Conference Call for Papers brochure. Entries can be sent to MELTA either as e-mail attachments or through regular mail to the MELTA office.


The Winners
2003 Ms. Nirmala Ramakrishnan

2004 Ms. Pung Tze Ching @ Joanna

2005 Ms. Anita Johanna Rajkumar Samuel

2006 Mr. Marcus Raja @Markus Gatuman

2008 Mr. Zanurin Mohamed Safar Ms Liaw Meng Lai Ms Harbans Kaur

2009 Ms. Rahmah Hj Sayuti

2010 Mr. Hyginus Lester Junior Lee

         Dr. C. Parameswary Chelliah

         Ms. Wong Woei Ling

2011 Ms. Puteri Azirah bt. Abd Aziz

2012 Kuala Lumpur

         Gold:     Ms. Shantini S. Karalasingam (SMK Bandar Baru Sg. Buloh)

         Silver:    Ms. Rahmah Hj Sayuti (SM Sains Sembrong)

         Bronze:  Ms. Nor Fadzleen binti Sa'don (SMK Tasek Utara) 


         Gold:      Ms. Chang Yee Shee (SMK Kota Marudu)

         Silver:     Ms. Ng Sing Yii (SMK Green Road)

         Bronze:   Ms. Sally Wong Leng King (SMK Saint Joseph)